Be Realistic

During my workout today, I listened to a podcast about how to maintain your healthy lifestyle once you’ve reach your goal weight. I actually was about to tweet something this morning that kind of went along these lines, but decided I’d write about here instead. There are so many things that I have noticed on my journey that I have to keep in mind in order to stay motivated and stay on track. I don’t just jump out of bed and run and it’s not always easy to eat right. We are human. We crave things that are terrible for us, but that’s life. We aren’t perfect. In this post, I will be sharing with you some things that I have noticed that I need to reach my goals and to stay on track.

I love being a planner, but it’s just not for everyone. If you’re not a planner for your everyday life, I honestly encourage you to be when it comes to being healthy and living a healthier lifestyle. It helps in so many ways.

One thing that I realized today is that mapping out your weekly workouts is so helpful. If you know what your plans for the week look like, then plan your workouts accordingly. That way when you get busy, you don’t miss a workout. You’ve already fit it in. Let’s be real. Sometimes, it doesn’t always happen that way. Plans change unexpectedly, therefore, don’t beat yourself up when it does. I have to say I do though. It bothers me if I can’t get a workout in, but we just have to remind ourselves that sometimes that happens and we can’t always help it.

For this coming week, I have already gone through and mapped out what days  I can go outside and workout in the evening and I have also noted what days that I need to get up early and use the bike. This way, I know ahead of time what days that I will be getting up early and which days I don’t have to. It’s nice to know that even on days when I have busy evenings, that I still have a backup workout plan. It keeps me on track. Let’s be honest, if we miss too many days, it’s hard to start back.

When mapping out your workouts, be realistic. Being realistic with yourself keeps you from getting discouraged. If you set goals that aren’t reachable, you’re going to want to give up because you’re not scratching off those goals and you’re not seeing any progress. It doesn’t matter if your workouts gradually increase by a few seconds or by minutes, if that is what works for you, then go for it! Every day, challenge yourself. When you set realistic goals for yourself and you meet them or pass them, it makes your feel amazing. Am I right? So today, I challenge you to map out your workouts for this week, but make them realistic. It doesn’t matter how small or how big, if it challenges you some, then that’s what matters. Chase those goals! Right now, I am working out a plan to a 5k. I will hopefully be posting that on here in the near future, so if you’re interested in running a 5k, this will hopefully help you. Please let me know in the comments if you would like to see that!

This post may seem short, but to be honest, I feel like there are other things that I can talk about in other posts that may help you all stay motivated toward your goals. Please if you need motivation, comment, message me on instagram, or tweet me. We all need motivation from time to time and I know it can be a struggle. I hope that all of you have an amazing week and reach your goals one step at a time! Until next time, stay fit and fab!

Psalm 139:14 KJV  I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Be Realistic

  1. This is awesome! I always find it hard to go back into working out when I’ve missed too many days, and I always beat myself up for not exercising more. I used to go to the gym almost daily – I would aim for every other day, but sometimes I would go more or less depending on my mood. Having a baby certainly did not help, and while I’m down to my prepregnancy weight, I am still above where I used to be. It’s really only 10/15 pounds I want to lose, but that last bit of weight always seems like the hardest to get rid of.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on my post! I greatly appreciate it.

      Yes! It is hard to lose those last few pounds. The smaller you become the harder it is to lose. Let me encourage you to keep going. Keep pushing forward. You can make it! Take it one step at a time. If it takes you longer than you planned, that’s okay. Making realistic goals and reaching them will benefit you, but giving up halfway through because you got discouraged will only set you back. Small steps are far greater than no steps. 🙂 ALL things are possible WITH GOD! Have a blessed day!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment