Race Week: Beast Mode

Time to get serious. The week working up to the race means I basically have a to-list of things to make sure I get done and ready beforehand. Not all these things can be done the night before either, so I have to be ready right from the get-go. I am actually considering doing a blog post on my race day prepping. If you would be interested in that, let me know.

Monday: Morning miles Monday! I’m glad that I did it to because during the day I noticed how my rings had moved. It was a great feeling. Race prep: Hydration was completely off on this day. Face palm.

Tuesday: My alarm went off and I was planning on getting my workout done in the morning, but……since I normally get my runs done in the afternoon, I decided that I would just do a run later in the day. I talked myself out of morning miles. I should have gotten up and did a walk and then ran later in the day, but no. But it’s okay because I went into beast mode that afternoon. I had an amazing 5k run with a warm up before and a cool down after. Great thing to because I have a race this Saturday. Race prep: Hydration was great and the workout was wonderful! Gold star!

Wednesday: No workout. I know that this is my active rest day, but that doesn’t mean no workout. I guess every once in a while is okay, right? Also, something I have noticed from last week and this week is that I am struggling. A lot. My mind is in twelve thousand directions. I haven’t been doing morning miles and I haven’t stayed on track with planning. It’s messing with me. I can tell. Like I mentioned last week, I don’t think I did a single morning workout last week and this week hasn’t been great either. As far as planning, I finally did get a good planning session in this week, which is much needed. All these things that I need to plan and keep track of are amazing things. Blessings. Answered prayers. I love every one of them. I just need to figure out how to keep it on paper in my planner rather than filling my brain.

I have mentioned the ‘Good Morning. Good Life’ book by Amy Landino before and it has been very informative. I believe it was in the very beginning of the book, Amy said to just try it. Just try a morning routine. I have before, but this year was a different morning routine. Since I have a treadmill, morning miles are easier to manage, so I tried it and it made a difference. She said try it. Just try it. So now I have tried it and it works great. I have also back tracked and stopped and it has been a struggle. So….like I said before I regret it when I don’t workout in the morning and it’s just not the same, so I am going to need to dig deep this next week and use that for motivation to get me back on track.

Thursday: An amazing run in the evening. This was also my last workout before the race. I pushed myself and got another good workout in, which I am super happy about. Race prep: A great workout!

Friday: No workout. Getting ready for race day. The plan was to carb load all day, drink lots of water, and get rest for the next day. Now let me be honest, I did not go to bed as early as I wanted to, but it’s okay. Also, I will end up posting a what I eat in a day that will show you all the foods that I carb loaded on throughout the day to prepare. It was wonderful. 🙂 Race prep: Outfit laid out. Playlist made. Carb Loaded.

Saturday: Race day!! Alarm went off at 4:45. Got up right before 5 I believe. I had gotten all my clothes and Momentum Jewelry ready for the race the night before as well, so getting ready was much easier. Made sure I had my AirPods because let’s be honest, those are very important. I have raced without them before and it’s just not the same. But two bumps in the road happened. One, I forgot to eat a piece of toast as a pre-race food. I totally forgot this until we were on our way to the race. Really? What I think made me realize it was the hunger that I was feeling, so what I did was dig through my purse and found a small chocolate bar that my co-worker got me. It’s all I had. Maybe not the best, but it worked. The other bump in the road was that I thought that packet pick up was at 6:30 to 7:30. Nope. 6-7. Therefore, I worried about getting there on time to even get my packet. Oy vey. Also, I had one hick up the night before when I realized that the starting line and packet pick up location were farther away than what we had planned, so we actually had to get up earlier than planned. I am so glad I discovered that when I did. The struggle is real sometimes.

Sunday: Planning on doing morning miles because I have a very busy day planned. We have church in the morning, lunch, cleaning the fellowship hall, and Bible study with the youth that night at church. It’s going to be a very, busy, but amazing day!

Now, time to start training for the next race in two weeks. Hope you all have a great week coming up. Stay positive. Stay motivated. Stay happy.

Until next time.

Romans 12:11 KJV Not slothful in business; fervent in spirit; serving the Lord;

Leave a comment